Skip to content

Knauss Fellowship

The NOAA Dean John A. Knauss Fellowship provides unique professional experiences for graduate students interested in national ocean policy. Fellows selected for this prestigious program spend a year in Washington, D.C., working in Congress or the Executive Branch on critical marine policy and resource management issues.  Woods Hole Sea Grant may submit up to six applicants to the National Sea Grant office for consideration.

Past Knauss Fellows proposed by Woods Hole Sea Grant

Knauss Fellow Year University Knauss Appointment
Keith Cialino 2010 UMASS-Boston NOAA’s Office of International Affairs
Hannah Dean 2011 UMASS-Boston Rep. Chellie Pengree (ME)
Denise Ellis-Hibbett 2011 UMASS-Boston NOAA MPA
Ellen Parry Tyler 2012 Tufts University Rep. Sam Farr (CA)
Stephanie Owens Morris 2013 MIT-WHOI Joint Program Rep. Jared Huffman (CA)
Marin Kress 2013 UMASS-Boston US Army Corps of Engineers
Whitney Bernstein 2014 MIT-WHOI Joint Program Rep. Sam Farr (CA)
Li Ling Hamady 2014 MIT-WHOI Joint Program National Science Foundation
Anne Clark Baker 2015 Clark University US Army Corps of Engineers
Amalia Arruda 2015 MIT-WHOI Joint Program NOAA
Alec Bogdanoff 2016 MIT-WHOI Joint Program Sen. Ed Markey (MA)
Kyrstin Fornace 2016 MIT-WHOI Joint Program NOAA, Sea Grant
Eleanor Bors 2017 MIT-WHOI Joint Program NOAA Office of International Affairs
Max Kaplan 2017 MIT-WHOI Joint Program NOAA Ocean Acidification Program
Emily Argo 2017 UMASS-Amherst U.S. Geological Survey – Natl. Climate Change
& Wildlife Science
Rebecca Certner 2018 Northeastern University NOAA-NOS Policy & Constituent Affairs Division
Allison Matzelle 2019 Northeastern University Sen. Tammy Baldwin (WI)
Megan May 2019 MIT-WHOI Joint Program in Oceanography Sen. Tammy Baldwin (WI)
Tyler Rohr 2019 MIT-WHOI Joint Program in Oceanography Dept. of Energy - Water Power Technology Office
Amanda Dwyer 2020 MIT-WHOI Joint Program in Oceanography NOAA-National Ocean Service, Marine Debris Program
Sean McNally 2020 MIT-WHOI Joint Program in Oceanography Sen. Brian Schatz (HI)
Andrew Villeneuve 2021 UMass-Amherst NOAA Office of the Assistant Administrator of Fisheries
Violet Doucette 2022 Northeastern University Office of Sen. Ed Markey (MA)
Jennifer Kenyon 2022 Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Bureau of Ocean Energy and Management
Patricia Perez 2022 UMass-Dartmouth Department of Energy Wind Energy Technologies and Water Power Technologies offices and the National Sea Grant Office
Alia Hidayat 2023 MIT WHOI Joint Program TBA
Sophia Ly 2023 Northeastern University TBA
Kalina Grabb 2023 MIT WHOI Joint Program TBA